Sushi Dokku

IMG_0391This is a relatively new restaurant from the team behind the former Sushi Wabi.  It is a cool environment that I would describe as industrial chic.  It’s a small space and a little bit loud, but nothing overwhelming.  This was an impulse dining trip, and luckily we did not have to wait for a table (it was a Tuesday night).  Given the size of the space and the Randolph Street location, I’d probably recommend making a reservation.

One of my dining companions ordered the Lychee Sorbet prior to dinner and I stole a small bite – it was absolutely fantastic – rich, creamy, and slightly tart.

I started with the Tuna Truffle;  the combination of tuna, truffle and avocado provided a very flavorful taste.  I love truffle and it was pretty strong, though definitely not overpowering, however this might not be a good choice if you are not a truffle oil fan.

Next, were two Maki rolls – the Dragon Roll and the Northern California Roll.  The Dragon Roll is always one of my favorites, and while this version was good, the tempura shrimp was a little soggy.  I have to say I’ve had better versions at other sushi restaurants in town.  My dining companion picked the Northern California roll; I was a little hesitant about this one, as I’m not usually a fan of soft shell crab.  I was pleasantly surprised;  this had unique flavors and a great texture.  It reminded me a bit of a traditional California roll, but with more unique flavors.

They have a fairly extensive Sake menu,  and a nice selection of wines by the glass.

http://www.sushidokku.com

Leave a Reply

